See-Through Baroque

by All Things Dark And Beautiful

Jacob Kimmie Spring Summer 2012

So I managed to sneak in front row of Jacob Kimmie’s show at The Vauxhall Fashion Scout venue!

I was very excited when on the credit sheet phrases such as “minimalist Baroque modernism” and “the new dark sophistication” were used and with the baroque music playing overhead the lights died down and the first model came out.

I had to wait a long way through the collection before I was even a bit impressed. The majority of the cuts were average, nothing special, and the fabrics cheap. I get that it’s not Somerset House so that’s why the standard of craftsmanship isn’t obviously spot on but the designs themselves didn’t really excite me anyway.

This was the first okay dress. I do like how the concentration of the print flows up the dress. And the movement of the trousers below were pretty alright too.

The model casting for the whole show was really weird though. I don’t know if it was done very much on purpose or maybe reflecting the attitudes of the Baroque culture towards colour? But the division of black and white models was very apparent.

Looking beautiful though.

